Goodbyes

It was a sad, but wonderful, week.

I had an amazing opportunity to see Husband last weekend. This kind of thing probably almost never happens, getting the opportunity to reunite during a deployment that’s less than a year. I’m a lucky girl, and I know it. 

I was so nervous leading up to seeing him. Silly, I know. But it was a perfect weekend; complete with tandem biking! (Tandem biking… Looks ridiculous, but it’s actually kind of awesome. We pretty much lived out Husband’s dream to get me on a bicycle AND do something super cheesy together.)

A beautiful city, delicious food, and amazing company… the recipe for perfection, right? It was. So perfect.

The weekend flew by and it was time to say goodbye, again.

I HATE goodbyes.

I’m no good at them. I’m a crier, but I try so hard not to be. So I tend to cut my goodbyes short… less pain, less tears? And goodbyes just hurt, so why prolong them?

Saying goodbye to my mom each time I leave Miami is always awful. So we usually make it quick. Big hug. Quick words about how great the time spent at home was. Quick “I love you” & “text me when you land, no matter how late it is!” and I’m off. Quickly walking into the termimal, fighting back tears.

Sigh. 

So, anyway. It sucked to say goodbye to Husband. Again. Less tears than the first time, but still. Not fun.

Big hug. Quick words about how great the weekend was. Quick “I love you” & “let me know when you get home” and quickly get back into the car, fighting back tears.

I had to follow that goodbye up with another one this week.

My first friend here in the desert left… on to bigger & better, living out her dream of getting out of this desert ASAP! She’d been staying with me for the last 3 weeks, so the goodbye hurt and the cherry on top is that I’m back to an empty home.

Another big hug. Another quick goodbye.

So, basically, I had to say goodbye to my two go-to people in one week. Ugh. Goodbyes suck.

I read this on Facebook this week and it really resonated with me: “The great thing about the military is that if you really dislike someone, they’ll be gone in a couple years. The bad thing about the military is that if you really like someone, they’ll be gone in a couple years.”

You win this time, military!

Leave a Reply

